June 28-July 2, 2015

University of California

Santa Barbara, CA USA


Late News Papers accepted by May 1st, 2015



2015 CSW Awards



CSW 2015


Plenary Speakers


Invited Speakers


Call for Papers


Abstract Submission







Information for Authors
Lab Tours
Short Courses
Rump Session


ISCS Awards

The International Symposium for Compound Semiconductors is the venue for presentation of four prestigious awards.  The awards to be made at ISCS 2015 are: 

  • The Welker Award
  • The Quantum Device Award
  • The Young Scientist Award
  • The CSW Best Student Paper Award

The Welker Award was established in 1976 by Siemens AG in honor of Heinrich Welker, the pioneer in the field of III-V compound semiconductors.  The award is now supported by Osram GmbH and presented for outstanding and pioneering research in the area of III-V compound semiconductors.

The Quantum Device Award was initiated by Fujitsu Quantum Devices Ltd. in 2000 and is now sponsored by the Japanese Section of the ISCS Steering Committee.  The award honors pioneering contributions to the field of compound semiconductor and quantum/nanostructure devices which have made a major impact in the past two decades.  New device concepts and structures, device physics and modeling as well as device realization and characterization are areas included in the award.

The Young Scientist Award is supported by the Symposium.  Established in 1986, the award acknowledges technical achievements in the field of compound semiconductors by a scientist younger than 40 years on the first day of the Symposium.

The CSW ISCS/IPRM Best Student Paper awardee will be selected by members of the program committee among the student papers. Presentation of this award will be done in the closing session, so we strongly recommend applicants to join the closing session.

Nominations for the awards

Please submit nominations for the first three awards to the Chair of the CSW Awards Committee, Prof. Yasuhiko Arakawa, by May 7th, 2015 (extended from the original May 1st).  Email:

The nominations must include:
1. All of the information requested on the nomination form (see file below)
2. Candidates' full resume


Previous recipients of the Welker Award

Nick Holonyak, Jr., Cyril Hilsum, Hisayoshi Yanai, Gerald L. Pearson, Herbert Kroemer, Izuo Hayashi, Heinz Beneking, A.Y. Cho, Zhores I. Alferov, Jerry M. Woodall, Don W. Shaw, Greg Stillman, Lester F. Eastman, Harry C. Gatos, James Turner, Federico Capasso, Isamu Akasaki, Ben G. Streetman, M. George Craford, Takashi Mimura, Claude Weisbuch, James S. Harris (2000), Karl Hess (2001), Hiroyuki Sakaki (2002), Klaus Ploog (2003), James J. Coleman (2004), Hans Melchior (2005), Marc Ilegems (2006), Kenichi Iga (2007), Gunter Weimann (2008), P. Daniel Dapkus (2009), Pallab Bhattacharya (2010), Yasuhiko Arakawa (2011), Umesh K. Mishra (2012), Tom Foxon (2013), and Gerald Bastard (2014).

Previous recipients of the Quantum Device Award

Emilio E. Mendez and Gerald Bastard (2000), Leo P. Kouwenhoven, Mark A. Reed and Seigo Tarucha (2001), Yasuhiko Arakawa (2002), Pallab Bhattacharya (2003), Jean-Pierre Leburton (2004), Pierre Petroff (2005), Carlo Sirtori (2006), Umesh K. Mishra and James S. Speck (2007), Jean-Michel Gerard (2008), Joe Campbell (2009), Chennupati Jagadish (2010), Alan C. Seabaugh (2011), David Gershoni (2012), Yoshiro Hirayama (2013), and Connie Chang-Hasnain (2014).

Previous recipents of the Young Scientist Award
Russell D. Dupuis, Naoki Yokoyama, W.T. Tsang, Russ Fischer, Yasuhiko Arakawa, Sandip Tiwari, Umesh K. Mishra, Kai Chang, Michael A. Haase, John D. Ralston, Nikolai Ledentsov, Fred Kish, Steven P. Den Baars, Jerome Faist, Kohiki Mukai (2000), Masahiko Kondow (2001), Diana Huffaker (2002), Mike Larson (2003), Toshihide Kikkawa (2004), Nils Weimann (2005), Andrea Fiore (2006), Masataka Higashiwaki (2007), Jonathan J. Finley (2008), Seth R. Bank (2009), Tomás Palacios (2010), Yoshitaka Taniyasu (2011), Debdeep Jena (2012), Sanjay Krishna (2013), and Huili (Grace) Xing (2014).

Previous recipient of the Best Student Paper Award
Georg Rossbach (2011), Jordan Lang and Adam Scofield (2012), Noelia Vico Trivino (2013), and Ya Zhang (2014).


IPRM Awards


The International Conference on Indium Phosphide and Related Materials has a long tradition of recognizing individuals who made significant contributions to the success of previous IPRM conferences through technical and/or organizational accomplishments by presenting the IPRM Award (formerly Michael Lunn Memorial Award). It is intended to continue this tradition also in 2015.

The nomination and selection procedures are taken care of by the International Steering Committee of IPRM. The 2015 award will be presented to the winner in the CSW ISCS/IPRM Award Ceremony.








Technical Sponsor




Financial Sponsor






Compound Semiconductor Week

42nd International Symposium on Compound Semiconductors

27th International Conference on Indium Phosphide and Related Materials